The official website of the Governor of Massachusetts

Official Website of the Governor of Massachusetts

Skip Navigation LinksBoards/Commissions Home > Search Results > Board/Commission Detail

Boards and Commissions

Massachusetts Interagency Council on Substance Abuse and Prevention

  Board/Commission Information

Board Name: Massachusetts Interagency Council on Substance Abuse and Prevention
Legal Authority: Executive Order 496
Purpose: Support the efforts of the Massachusetts Department of Public Health to fulfill its statutory mandate as the single state agency to supervise, coordinate and establish standards for the operation of substance abuse prevention and treatment services
Seat Restrictions: Term Limit: | Term Length: At the pleasure of the governor. The Governor appoints 1 member of the public and 1 representative of his office.
Meeting Information: 2nd Wednesday of the month, 1-3 p.m. Department of Public Health 250 Washington Street Boston
Compensation: None.

Member Information

Member NameSeat NameChairTerm End Date
Ms. Hilary JacobsAssistant Commissioner, Public Health for Substance Abuse Services  
Mr. Joshua WallChair, Parole Board  
Commissioner Carol Higgins O'BrienCommissioner, Corrections  
Commissioner Heidi L. ReedCommissioner, Deaf and Hard of Hearing  
Commissioner Linda SpearsCommissioner, Department of Children and Families  
Ms. Elin M. HoweCommissioner, Department of Developmental Services  
Ms. Joan MikulaCommissioner, Department of Mental Health  
Commissioner Jeff McCueCommissioner, Department of Transitional Services  
Mr. Thomas L. WeberCommissioner, Early Education and Care  
Acting Commissioner Seena Perumal CarringtonCommissioner, Health Care Finance and Policy  
Ms. Adelaide N. OsborneCommissioner, Massachusetts Rehabilitation Commission  
Commissioner Edward DolanCommissioner, Probation  
Dr. Monica BharelCommissioner, Public Health  
Mr. Peter J. ForbesCommissioner, Youth Services  
Commissioner Mitchell D. ChesterDepartment of Elementary and Secondary Education  
Ms. Kristin ThornDirector, Medicaid  
Ms. Ellen S. ShapiroDistrict Court Representative  
Mr. William LuzierExecutive Director  
VACANTHouse Member (Speaker)  
Representative Randy HuntHouse, Minority Leader  
Ms. Elena LaporteJuvenile Court Representative  
Mr. Paul F. McDevittPrivate Citizen  
Ms. Maryanne FrangulesPrivate Citizen 2  
Dr. Smita PatelPublic 1  
Mr. Richard DyerPublic 2  
Secretary James PeyserSecretary, Education  
Secretary Alice BonnerSecretary, Elder Affairs  
Secretary Daniel BennettSecretary, EOPSS  
Secretary Marylou SuddersSecretary, HHS  
Francisco UrenaSecretary, Veteran Affairs  
Senator Jennifer FlanaganSenate Member  
Senator Richard J. RossSenate, Minority Leader  
Ms. Maria I. PenaSuperior Court Representative